web statistics

Sunday, February 21, 2010

The Magician's Apprentice - Trudi Canavan

A delightful find is Trudi Canavan's "The Magician's

Trudi Canavan, an Australian writer, is the author of
The Black Magician Trilogy, which includes:
The Magician's Guild, The Novice and The High Lord.

The Magician's Apprentice is set within the world
of the triology, where magic, medicine, and war mingle.

Tessia is the daughter of the village Healer. Unbeknownst
to herself and others, Tessia is a "natural." A magician of
natural ability. Upon the discovery of her hidden talents,
Tessia's life changes beyond her belief. Fighting against
prejudice and ignorance Tessia learns to control her
magical gift and how to use it in healing and helping

Jayan is close to reaching his goal of full fledged magician
with Lord Dakon as his mentor and teacher. At first his
disdain for Tessia is due to having to share his teacher,
although later he will come to understand Tessia's
drive and reasoning towards her goal of melding
magic and healing.

Takado of the Sachakan people is a vicious killer. His
goal in life is to conquer and rule the Kyralian lands
and enslave their people.

Vora is a young woman who's mother is of Elyne and
her father a Sachakan. Used to the freedom of
women under the Elyne's, Vora seeks her father's
approval and wishes to help in his trade. Yet all
she finds is disappointment, an arranged marriage
and a different type of slavery.... until she is able
to use her magic to further not only her cause, but
that of other downtrodden women.

Their lives intersect in a time of war and the
outcome changes them forever.

Posted by Patsy :: 9:50 PM :: 0 comments

Post a Comment


Tuesday, February 02, 2010

Paula Froelich - Mercury in Retrograde

Browsing the library shelves my eye was
caught by the title "Mercury in Retrograde."
Curious, I just had to take a peek and see
what this book was about.

It's a tale of three young women who
suddenly find themselves in different
circumstances than usual. Their
individual lives are tied together through
friends and through proximity by virture
of living in the same apartment building.

The escapades and foibles of these quirky
ladies is told with entertainingly humorous

Although it's not the type of tale I'd normally
pick out to read, I found this one interesting
and enjoyable.

Posted by Patsy :: 11:02 PM :: 1 comments

Post a Comment

John Flanagan - The Ranger's Apprentice - Book 7 Erak's Ransom

Once again John Flanagan has spun a fine tale with
the continuing series "Ranger's Apprentice."

I've read all 7 books in the series and the librarian
informed me that there are two more due to be
released fairly soon.

Books in the series are:
Book 1: The Ruins of Gorland
Book 2: The Burning Bridge
Book 3: The Icebound Land
Book 4: The Battle for Skandia
Book 5: The Sorcerer of the North
Book 6: The Siege of Macindaw

Book 7: Erak's Ransom - In this part of the series
young Will soon will earn the Silver Oak Leaf that
will signify that he's become a Ranger. In addition,
the Araluen's ally, the Skandian Oberjarl Erak is
facing a rival for his position and in the process is
kidnapped by the Arridi.

Rangers Halt, Gilan, and Will, the Araluen royal
representative, Princess Cassandra travelling in
disguise as "Evanlyn," and Erak's friend Svengal
must partner with the Arridi to find and fight
the Tualaghi, and Erak's rival, for Erak's life....
and their own.

Posted by Patsy :: 10:39 PM :: 0 comments

Post a Comment